Friday, September 25, 2009

We do it "Old Skool"

So, this Saturday (as in tomorrow) I'm finally running at a meet!

I am part of the Women's Cross Country Team at DCDS, but due to a shin injury (stress fractures in both my shins) I have not been able to run a meet since Freshman year. This year, I acted as the manager of the team: writing their splits down, and also carrying all their warm-ups.

I've done so much in preparation for this meet. I ran today, (8x200m), and I biked a lot at home. I'm going to stay hydrated today, and sleep early! I've been in a habit lately of forgetting to bring shoes to practice (only twice, mind you. But going to XC practice without shoes is hard, even if you're manager), so I MUST remember to not forget my shoes... and spikes!

I'm so excited for this meet; it's the "fun run" called "Old Skool Classic" and it's, actually, really fun. In this course, you jump over hay-bales, and run through rivers. And it's pretty laid-back.

For anyone not familiar with Cross Country meets, the course will be 5k (or 3.1 miles) long, and usually the runners have to overcome obstacles such as hills and sand.

My reasonable goal for tomorrow is to get under 30 minutes for the 5k, as I haven't been running much. I must work hard tomorrow, and get a good nights sleep today.

0 comments:

Post a Comment